Skip Navigation

UNL Newsroom

The source for university news

News Contacts

Steve Smith
News Director
(402) 472-4226
ssmith13@unl.edu
Dan Moser
IANR News
(402) 472-3030
dmoser3@unl.edu
Dave Fitzgibbon
Manager of Broadcast News
(402) 472-8520
dfitzgibbon1@unl.edu
Deann Gayman
Writer/Editor
(402) 472-8320
deann.gayman@unl.edu
Leslie Reed
National News
(402) 472-2059
lreed5@unl.edu
Tom Simons
News Coordinator
(402) 472-8514
tsimons1@unl.edu
Troy Fedderson
Scarlet Editor
(402) 472-8515
tfedderson2@unl.edu
University Communications News Office
321 Canfield Administration
Lincoln, NE 68588

Recent News

Great Plains book prize renamed, upped to $10,000

December 17th

Since 2005 the University of Nebraska's Center for Great Plains Studies has acknowledged outstanding works of nonfiction with its annual book prize.             Starting this year, the prize's name has been changed to the Stubbendieck Gre. . .
More

Nearly 1,500 receive degrees at UNL commencement exercises

December 19th

Nearly 1,500 graduates will receive degrees from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln at ceremonies Dec. 19 and 20.             Daniel G. Linzell, Voelte-Keegan Professor and Chair of the UNL Department of Civil Engineering, gave the addres. . .
More

Nebraska's Leading Economic Indicator points to a slowing economy

December 19th

Nebraska's Leading Economic Indicator fell in November by 1.33 percent, auguring slower economic growth for the state in the spring.             "The Leading Economic Indicator for Nebraska is designed to predict economic growth six month. . .
More

Long-term cliff swallow study uncovers effects of climate change

December 18th

A 30-year study of cliff swallows, a long-distance migrant bird species, has revealed that global climate change is altering their breeding habits.             "When we began the project in 1982, we didn't intend to complete an analysis o. . .
More

3 from ROTC to receive military commissions Dec. 19-20

December 18th

Three cadets in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Reserve Officer Training Corps will receive military commissions in ceremonies this weekend in the auditorium of the Nebraska Union, 14th and R streets.             Allison K. Daharsh of . . .
More

31 UNL students named to 'Franco's List' for character, integrity

December 17th

Thirty-one University of Nebraska-Lincoln students were recognized as outstanding agents of character and integrity this fall when they were named to "Franco's List."             Students who attain the highest level of academic achieveme. . .
More

The Scarlet

Latest headlines:
Loading feed...

Full Scarlet news feed

UNL Events