37th Annual Undergraduate Juried Exhibition opens Feb. 2

Fatima Al-Jayashi, “Creative Burnout,” 2023.
Fatima Al-Jayashi, “Creative Burnout,” 2023.

Opening February 2nd from 5-7pm, the opening reception of the 37th Annual Undergraduate Juried Exhibition hosted in the Eisentrager-Howard Gallery in Richards Hall. This exhibition will be open until March 1.

A closing reception will be held Friday, March 1st from 5-7 pm in the gallery with awards presented at 6 pm. More than 10 awards will be announced, including the Freshman Award, Sophomore Award and the Faulkner Memorial Awards.

This year's guest juror is Suzanne Wise, art historian with a specialization in American painting and photography. She received her M.A. in art history from the University of Kansas, and held curatorial positions at Sheldon Art Museum, Joslyn Art Museum and Northwestern University’s Block Gallery. Suzanne has also taught at Creighton University and in the University of Nebraska system. Her career at the Nebraska Arts Council began in 1988 and after over 20 years, Suzanne recently retired from her role as executive director at the NAC; a state agency that promotes, cultivates and sustains the arts for the people of Nebraska. She served as the public art program administrator, and managed special initiatives and all grant programs, except arts education for the agency. She has served on numerous boards in Nebraska and nationally including Mid-America Arts Alliance in Kansas City, and the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies in Washington, D.C.

Forty-six undergraduate artists are represented in the exhibit. Mediums range from digital to traditional.

Students are selected in the exhibition:
Dawson Adams
Lola Agena
Fatima Al-Jayashi
Nathan Anderson
Joselyn Andreasen
Payton Becwar
Cassidy Benjamin
Oliver Billig
Corryn Birkeland
Nina Campbell
Darby Carlin
Amy Curtis
Sydney DeRoin
Anna Dirrim
Maya Foxworthy
Madison Geidel
Kate Glass
Mallory Grundman
Melissa Hewitt
Julia Homan
Lindsey Johnson
Ju Ju
Katherine Kastens
Luke Keilig
Carter Krajewski
Elise Kruska
Natalie Leininger
Lizeth Lopez-Garcia,
Emily Meng
Ellie Nelson
Parker Park
Taylor Powell
Lim Puoch
Istar Quintero
Sarah Rady
Isaac Rolf
Niko Rurik
Riley Schneider
Kenzie Sheridan
Carlie Sorge
Sophia Strong
Callie Swenson
Jade Wasowicz
Campbell Windrum
Mimi Yu
Jin Zhen.

The Eisentrager-Howard Gallery is located on the first floor of Richards Hall on the University’s city campus at Stadium Drive and T streets. Gallery hours are Monday-Thursday, noon to 5pm. Admission to the gallery is free and open to the public.

For more information on the exhibition, please contact the School of Art, Art History & Design at (402) 472-5522 or e-mail schoolaahd@unl.edu.

Follow the gallery on social media via Instagram @eisentragerhoward and Facebook @EHArt Gallery to be informed of any gallery updates.

More details at: https://newsroom.unl.edu/announce/artsatunl/16761/92635