Lai wins Don Miller Math Award from Lincoln Rotary Club #14

Dr. Martin Massengale and President Eric Drumheller presented the 2021 Miller Math Award to Yvonne Lai.
Dr. Martin Massengale and President Eric Drumheller presented the 2021 Miller Math Award to Yvonne Lai.

Dr. Yvonne Lai of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Department of Mathematics is the 2021 recipient of the Don Miller Math Award from the Lincoln Rotary Club #14.

"The Rotary Club is known for its service to the community. I am especially honored to receive the Don Miller award because I view teaching and learning as about developing mathematical communities," Lai said. "I am grateful for the consistent, enthusiastic support from the mathematics department. And I am grateful to teachers in Lincoln Public Schools for welcoming me into their classrooms and into the Lincoln Math Teachers' Circle, so that I can learn from them what it means to nurture mathematical communities."

Each year since 1992, Lincoln Rotary Club #14 proudly presents the Donald W. Miller Math Recognition Award, recognizing outstanding mathematics educators in the Lincoln area. The club endowed this award in honor of former member, past club president (1986–87) and Rotary leader, Donald W. Miller.

As a University of Nebraska-Lincoln professor, Don gave many years of sustained leadership in the field of mathematics and has been recognized locally and nationally for his efforts. In his early years at Nebraska, Don did mathematical research and published several articles. Don continued his work in mathematics education and in 1986 was part of a group that helped establish three-week on-site institutes for high school teachers in various Nebraska communities. In 1989 Don received a planning grant for the Nebraska Mathematics Coalition and led the Nebraska effort to receive funding for a Statewide Systemic Initiative grant. Nebraska was one of only 10 states nationally to receive initial funding for this important program in 1991.

Don was recognized with a Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1988 and the UNL Distinguished Educational Service Award in 1989. He was a loyal and trusted friend and leader of Rotary Club #14 until his death in 1992.

See the list of past winners at: