Awards, honors and recognitions

Eight in SNR earned awards or honors since Feb. 1.
Eight in SNR earned awards or honors since Feb. 1.

2 named to Chancellor’s Commission on the State of Women

Mary Bomberger Brown and Jenny Dauer of the School of Natural Resources have been named to the Chancellor’s Commission on the Status of Women; their terms will run through 2020.

The purpose of the commission is to enhance the status of all women at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, by advising Chancellor Ronnie Green on issues pertaining to gender equity and on specific concerns of women faculty, staff and students at Nebraska.

Both women are active in the Lincoln chapter of the Association of Women in Science, which was co-founded by Dauer at SNR in 2015 and of which Bomberger Brown serves as faculty sponsor.

The goals of AWIS align with the intensions of the commission, and both Dauer and Bomberger Brown hope to serve as liaisons between the two groups.

During her term on the commission, Bomberger Brown would like to see a boost in the number of mentors for female faculty, staff and students; an increase in male allies and advocates across campus; and increased communication on issues of importance to female employees, all to help increase women’s successes across campus.

Dauer has similar hopes and looks forward to helping advance opportunities for women on campus to ensure an atmosphere conducive to their success.

“I am interested in helping young women find their full potential,” she said. “I am passionate about issues that impact women and open doors to their professional and personal success."

Spurgeon, Siddons earn American Fisheries Society awards

Jonathan Spurgeon, river ecologist with SNR, earned the Outstanding Fishery Student award from the Nebraska chapter of the American Fisheries Society in early February for his doctoral work on large-river fish populations and changing river systems. The award was presented at the 77th Midwest Fisheries and Wildlife Conference on Feb. 5 to 8 at the Cornhusker Marriott in Lincoln.

Stephen Siddons, research technician with SNR, earned the best student presentation award, also presented at the conference during the joint Nebraska-Kansas meeting of the American Fisheries Society.

Lally, Peterson earn travel grant awards

Diane Lally, environmental studies doctoral student, and McKinzie Peterson, natural resources master’s student, both have earned travel grants through the Agricultural Research Division, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Lally earned the William G. Whitmore Memorial Student Travel Fund award, and Peterson earned the David H. & Anne E. Larrick Memorial Travel Fund award. Both will use the funds to attend the National Association for Research in Science Teaching Annual International Conference set for April 22 to 25 in San Antonio, Texas.

Winn, Buller receive Parents' Recognition Awards
Sara Winn, SNR advising coordinator, and Rebecca Buller, geographer, both of SNR, earned the Parents' Recognition Awards, presented during a Feb. 3 ceremony in the Nebraska Union. The award is given annually to each person nominated by at least one Nebraska student or a parent.

This is the fourth time Winn has earned the award, and the fifth time Buller has received the honor.

Natural Resources