Multiple Glenn Korff School of Music pieces highlight ISJAC selections for symposium

Selections have been made for the International Society of Jazz Composers Symposium at the University of South Florida May 18-20 and it includes a great representation from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Glenn Korff School of Music.

Nearly 200 professional and student composition applications were judged via blind peer review by a panel that consisted of some of the most noted jazz composers and educators on the scene today, including Grammy Award winner Maria Schneider, Guggenheim Fellows Rufus Reid and Chuck Owen, and Grammy winner/Guggenheim Fellow Billy Childs.

Twenty pieces were accepted for non-students and ten student works were accepted. Director of Jazz Studies Paul Haar announced that Professor Tom Larson and Dr. Greg Simon were selected in the non-student/professional category and Andrew Janak and Derek Molacek were selected for the student composition category.

Of the 20 non-students will be Simon for his piece “Marble and Glass,” and Larson for his piece “Persistence.” Among the 10 student presenters: Janak for his piece “Expect the Unexpected” and Molacek for his piece “Omnipotent Q.”

Additionally, Janak was invited to show at a poster session, as was DMA jazz studies graduate Masa Ishikawa.

On a side note, Dr. David Stamps, an alum of Nebraska, is on the board of directors for the International Society of Jazz Arrangers & Composers.

More information on the Symposium can be found at: