Six faculty among Gamma Sigma Delta honorees

The Nebraska Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the honor society of agriculture, added 19 new members and issued awards during an annual banquet Jan. 27.

Gamma Sigma Delta is an international honor society dedicated to recognizing accomplishments in agricultural sciences, natural resources, education and human sciences, and biological systems engineering.

UNL Extension's Kayla Hinrichs and Amy Timmerman were the two new faculty members to join the society.

Other faculty who received awards (listed below) during the banquet are Elizabeth Birnstihl, Galen Erickson, Jenny Rees and Madhavan Soundararajan.

Other new members this year are:

Undergraduates — Rachel Coburn, Jana Cool, Samantha Davis, Brooke Grossenbacher, Tessa Harms, Ivy Hoppes, Melissa Matulka, Karla Pick, Lacey Schardt, Chanda Scheuring, Stephanie Smolek, Peter Alexander Sojka, Audrey Marie Swanson and Eric Thalken

Graduate students — Jeremy Howard, Maria Elisa Perez-Munoz

Alumni — Douglas A. Golick

The awards presented during the banquet include:

Outstanding Undergraduate Students — Rachel Coburn, Josiah Dallman

Outstanding Graduate Student — Aruna Gangaplara

Excellence in Teaching — Soundararajan (biochemistry)

Excellence in Extension — Rees (UNL Extension)

Excellence in Research — Galen Erickson (animal science)

Award of Merit-For Distinguished Achievement in Agriculture — Birnstihl (UNL Extension)

More details at: