Faculty, staff honored for contributions to students

Ronald Hanson and Donald Lee, UNL's first 20-time winners of the UNL Teaching Council and UNL Parents Association contribution to students awards.
Ronald Hanson and Donald Lee, UNL's first 20-time winners of the UNL Teaching Council and UNL Parents Association contribution to students awards.

The UNL Teaching Council and UNL Parents Association honored faculty and staff at an annual recognition ceremony on Feb. 3.

Certificates of recognition for contributions to students were given during the ceremony. This was the first year 20-year awards were presented. Faculty receiving the 20-year honor are Ronald Hanson, professor of agricultural economics, and Donald Lee, professor of agronomy and horticulture.

The awards provide positive feedback to campus faculty and staff about the work they do with students.

The Parents Association solicits nominations through an annual mailing, asking parents to nominate a faculty or staff employee who has made a significant difference in their student’s life. All who were nominated by at least one parent and/or student and who are still with the university received a certificate.

The 2011-2012 recipients are listed below.

Numbers in parentheses indicate the years a recipient has received the award. If no number is listed, the award is a first-time honor.

For more information, contact Student Affairs at 472-3755.

College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Agricultural Economics — Ronald Hanson (20); Rosalee Swartz (14)

Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication — Heath Harding

Agronomy and Horticulture — Donald Lee (20); Steve Rodie (3); Kim Todd (8)

Animal Science — Chris Calkins (4); Steven Jones (5); Lisa Karr-Lilienthal; Merlyn Nielsen (6); Bryan Reiling (7)

Biochemistry — Melanie Simpson

Biological Systems Engineering — Dean Eisenhauer (6); David Jones (8); Jack L. Schinstock (16); Jeremy Steele

Dean’s Office — Sue Voss (10)

Entomology — David Carter (3); Tiffany Heng-Moss (8)

PGA Golf Management — Alan Baquet

School of Natural Resources — Rebecca Buller (2); Dennis Ferraro (3); Patricia Freeman (2); Qingfeng “Gene” Guan; Sue Ellen Pegg (2); Lisa Pennisi; David Wishart (6)

School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences — David Steffen (3)

College of Architecture

Architecture — Brian Kelly; Sarah Thomas Karle (2)

College of Arts and Sciences

Advising — Erin Sayer (4)

Anthropology — Wayne Babchuk (4)

Biological Sciences — Deborah Brown; Scott Gardner (8); Ramesh Laungani; Connor Mahoney; T. Jack Morris (3); Wendy O’Connor (4); Stacey Smith

Chemistry — Manashi Chatterjee; Jason Kautz (5); Neil Lawrence; Hui Li; Eric Malina (5)

Classics and Religious Studies — Stephen Lahey (5); Gordon Watley (3); Thomas Winter (8)

Communication Studies — Darrel Farmer ; Jordan Soliz (3); Tiffany Wang

Computer Science and Engineering — Chris Bourke; Jodi Holt

Earth and Atmospheric Sciences — Matthew Van Den Broeke

English — Joy Castro (2); Frances Condon; Bernice Olivas; Michael Page (2); Kelly Stage

History — Donna Akers; Thomas Berg (6); Amy Burnett; Vanessa Gorman (5); James Le Sueur (4); Scott Stempson (4)

Mathematics — Mikil Foss (3); Allan Peterson (8); William Rogge (4)

Modern Languages and Literature — Luiza Adamyan; Aaron Chambers; Yoanna Greenwood (2); Sheri Hurlbut (8); Catherine Johnson; Lola Lorenzo (7); Jose Moreno; Mila Saskova-Pierce (9); Oscar Sendón Blanco; Frederique Sevet-Collier

Physics and Astronomy — Herman Batelaan (4); Timothy Gay (7)

Political Science — Michael Wagner; Sergio Wals; Tyler White

Psychology — Rosemary Esseks (2); Celeste Spier (3); Scott Stoltenberg

Sociology — Dan Hoyt (2)

College of Business Administration

Accountancy — Arthur Allen; Debra Cosgrove (5)

Advising — Jeff Burdic (4); D’vee Buss (7); Betsy Klemme (3)

Center for Entrepreneurship — Deb Payne

Economics — Sam Allgood (3); Carlos Asarta (4); Elizabeth Hefel

Finance — Jeff Johnson (2); Warren Luckner (8)

Management — Richard Kimbrough; Samuel Nelson (2)

College of Education and Human Sciences

Child, Youth, and Family Studies — Rochelle Dalla

Dean’s Office — Debra Mullen (8)

Educational Administration — Jody Isernhagen

Educational Studies — Rita Hermann

Nutrition and Health Sciences — Candace Kohnke; Joyce McMeen (2); Jeffrey Rudy (4); Linda Young (14)

Special Education and Communication Disorders — Cynthia Cress (4); Charles Healey (6); Tiffany Hogan (2); John Maag (7); Robert Reid (4)

Student Services Center — James Cotter (7); Vicki Fisher (8); Susan Goodrich (6)

Teaching, Learning and Teacher Education — Stephanie Baer; Bill Latta (2); William Lopez (6); Stephen Swidler (3); Sarah Thomas

Textiles, Clothing and Design — Barbara Trout (5)

College of Engineering

Construction Management — Bruce Fischer (4)

Electrical Engineering — Michael Hoffman

Mechanical and Materials Engineering — M. Susan Hallbeck (5); Jung Yul Lim; Mehrdad Negahban (5); Wieslaw Szydlowski (5)

Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts

Art and Art History — Angeles Cossio; Dana Fritz (3); Elizabeth Ingraham (2)

Music — Karen Becker (4); Alisa Belflower (7); Jamie Reimer; Janet Sievert; Darryl White (3); Julie Yoon (2)

Theatre and Film — Richard Endacott (2); Steve Kolbe (2)

College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Advertising — Michael Goff (13); Stacy James (14); Phyllis Larsen (6)

Broadcasting — Richard Alloway (19); Trina Creighton (5)

News-Editorial — Joe Starita (3); Bruce Thorson (3); Christopher S. Winter (6)

Other campus units

Association of Campus Religious Workers — Ben Holdren

Admissions — Cle Mangram; Patrick McBride (8); Adam Stahr
Association of Students of the University of Nebraska — Marlene Beyke (5)

Athletic Department — Alvin Banks (3); Katherine Jewell (10); Billy Maxwell (2); Michael Nieman (2); Bo Pelini; Cathy Robertson

Campus Recreation — Denise Taylor

Criminology and Criminal Justice — Chris Eskridge (15); Russell Smith

Dean of Students — Matthew Hecker (3)

General Studies — Jennifer Nelson (7)

Honors Program — Patrice Berger (14); Laura Damuth (3); Ann Koopmann (9)

Naval Science — Christopher Stone

Nebraska Alumni Association — Sarah Haskell

Registration and Records — Deborah Quinn (3)

Scholarships and Financial Aid — Anna Plank (5)

Services for Students with Disabilities — Barbara Woodhead

Student Accounts — Lila Luft

Student Involvement — Karen Wills

TRIO Programs — Michael Zafft (3)

University Housing — Brandon Nelson; Toby Toland (3); Ronald White

W.H. Thompson Learning Community — Kelli King