INTSORMIL farewell reception is March 20

A reception in honor of the International Sorghum and Millet Collaborative Research Support Program is 4 to 5 p.m. March 20 in the East Union's Great Plains Room. The event will honor INTSORMIL administrators and staff. A short program begins at 4:15 p.m.

Funding for INTSORMIL ends March 31.

INTSORMIL was established in 1979 through the U.S. Agency for International Development. INTSORMIL supports international research to improve nutrition and increase income in developing countries and the United States. The program’s main focus is on enhancing production and uses of sorghum, millet and other grains to identify new farming practices that improve yields, reduce losses to pests and protects natural resources.

INTSORMIL researchers are located at UNL, Kansas State University, Mississippi State University, Ohio State University, Purdue University, Texas A&M University and West Texas A&M University.

Individuals who will be honored during the March 20 reception include: John Yohe, director; Elvis Heinrichs, assistant director; Joan Frederick, administrative support; Diane Sullivan, accounting associate; Kimberly Christiansen, business support associate; and Tony Michaelsen, staff member.