Brostrom, Wullschleger earn student leadership awards at UNL

Released on 04/30/2012, at 12:00 AM
Office of University Communications
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lincoln, Neb., April 30th, 2012 —
Brostrom, Franco, Wullschleger
Brostrom, Franco, Wullschleger

Kara Brostrom of Grand Island and Micah Wullschleger of Valley were honored April 20 by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Office of Student Affairs with UNL’s 2012 Outstanding Student Leadership Awards.

The Outstanding Student Leadership Award recognizes outstanding leadership in academic, co-curricular, and/or extracurricular activities and involvement. Selection committees on behalf of the Office of Student Affairs annually select one male and one female student for recognition for their outstanding leadership contributions at UNL and their efforts to develop leadership qualities in their fellow students. 

Brostrom is a psychology major and Wullschleger is an English and anthropology major. In addition to Brostrom and Wullschleger, four students were honored as finalists and 14 as semifinalists for the awards. Those honored, sorted by hometown, with majors listed, are:

Dakota City: David Pacheco, mechanical engineering.

Harvard: Lia Morales, Spanish and biochemistry.

Lincoln: Victoria Fry, chemical engineering; Hannah Potter, (finalist) art and advertising; Sara Prewett, social sciences education.

Omaha: Garrett Allen, philosophy; Monica Krause, biological systems engineering; Michael Mumbaugh (finalist) engineering; Kathleen Oltman (finalist) psychology and English; David Orozco-Garcia, psychology; Natalia Santos, nutrition, exercise and health science.

Schuyler: Sadid Carrillo, finance.

Scribner: Derek Niewohner, advertising and public relations, broadcasting.

Thedford: Melissa Matulka, animal science and agribusiness.

Wisner: Ross Jensen (finalist) agribusiness and finance.

Overland Park, Kan.: Brooke Grossenbacher, food science and technology.

Pinetop, Ariz.: William Schimmel, economics and finance.

Skara, Sweden: Bjorn Barrefors, computer science.

News Release Contacts:

Associated Media Files: