College of Arts and Sciences names 11 to Dean's Scholars Society

Released on 05/18/2012, at 2:00 AM
Office of University Communications
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lincoln, Neb., May 18th, 2012 —

            The University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Arts and Sciences has named 11 new members to its Dean's Scholars Society.

            Dean David Manderscheid established the group in 2010 with the help of the University of Nebraska Foundation. The goal was to recognize some of the best students in the college, with "best" being defined by more than grade point averages. Besides having a strong academic record, eligible students must possess superior leadership skills and a commitment to service.

            Selected students can receive up to $2,000 in scholarship aid.

            Service is an integral part of the group's mission. Along with their commitment to service on campus, group members last year committed to volunteering each month at the Food Bank of Lincoln.

            More details about the Dean's Scholars Society can be found at

            Following is a list of the new group members, their hometowns, grade standing, academic major(s) and parents' names:


            Bennington: Candace Towns, senior, psychology, Linda Towns.

            Greenwood: Ellen Sundermeier, senior, English, Jon and Mary Sundermeier.

            Liberty: Colby Argo, senior, political science and biological sciences, Douglas and Jane Argo.

            Lincoln: Kiersten Haugen, senior, political science and Spanish, John and Susan Haugen; Alicia Meyer, senior, English and medieval and Renaissance studies, MK Garrett.

            Omaha: Abigail Schweitzer, senior, biological sciences, David and Cathy Schweitzer; Qianli Wang, senior, biological sciences, Xingqi Wang.

            Osceola: Seth Peterson, senior, communication studies, Tom and Suzanne Peterson.

            South Sioux City: John-Emmett Mahon, junior, biological sciences, Vincent and Darlakae Mahon.


            Cincinnati, Ohio: Zachary Bailey, senior, biochemistry, Tom and Tina Bailey.

            Sioux City, Iowa: Kate Kollars, senior, anthropology and biological sciences, Bradford and Mary Kay Kollars.

Writer: Jean Ortiz Jones


News Release Contacts: