Fall entering class at UNL's Raikes School announced

Released on 06/08/2012, at 2:00 AM
Office of University Communications
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lincoln, Neb., June 8th, 2012 —

            Thirty high-achieving 2012 high school graduates have been accepted into the highly competitive Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for fall 2012.

            The Raikes School develops leaders for this era of expanding information technology and business globalization. Students live and learn in the Esther L. Kauffman Academic Residential Center located at the heart of the UNL campus. Students are selected for this innovative program based on high academic achievement, outstanding leadership experience, demonstrated interest in computer science and business, and career goals. Students receive scholarships valued at approximately $35,000 over four years that cover housing in the Kauffman Center and a full meal plan. Most receive other tuition scholarships available at the university for high-achieving scholars.

            The 2012 entering class includes 13 National Merit scholars and nine high school valedictorians. The average composite ACT for this year’s class is 33.6. Three students had highest-possible (36) ACT scores. Raikes School students are admitted to the University Honors Program.

            The school is named for Jeffrey S. Raikes, chief executive officer of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, based in Seattle. A Nebraska native, Raikes previously was president of Microsoft Corp.'s Business Division, retiring in 2008 after 27 years with the company.

            The program is a recognized leader in interdisciplinary computer science and business management education. It provides an education balanced in technology and management while developing professional skills in leadership, communications and collaboration. Graduates, who are among the most highly sought-after in the field, create innovative technologies for business, manage technical development, lead and manage technologists, manage with technology-based processes, understand technology market opportunities, understand the strategic uses of technology, and bridge the gap between technology and business perspectives.

            A list by hometown of accepted students follows. The name of the student's high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the town's. The student's intended academic major is also included.


            Albion: Marcus Lee (Boone Central), computer science.

            Columbus: Brad Steiner (Scotus), mechanical engineering.

            Diller: Cassey Lottman (Diller-Odell), business administration.

            Elkhorn: Madelyn Petersen, undeclared.

            Giltner: Trevor Poppen, computer science.

            Hastings: Michael Hollman (Heartland Lutheran), computer engineering.

             Lincoln: Sam Gemar (Southwest), electrical engineering; Shannen Lambdin (East) engineering; Jimmy Lee (Southwest), computer science; Derek Nordgren (Southwest), mechanical engineering; Nick Varilek (Pius X) computer science.

            Omaha: Rachel Bormann (Marian), mechanical engineering; Nathan DeMaria (Creighton Prep), undeclared; Tracy Moody (Millard West), computer science; Tom Mullen (Roncalli), undeclared; Andrew Thielen (Skutt), computer science.

             Seward: Alex Bainter, computer engineering; Rees Klintworth (Lincoln Lutheran), mechanical engineering.

            Thurston: Rachael Dahlman (Pender), computer engineering.

            Wayne: Sawyer Jager, computer engineering.


            Ames, Iowa: Darren Johnson, actuarial science.

            Fayetteville, Ark: Tyler Steiner, actuarial science.

            Glenview, Ill.: Nick Harloff (Maine Township East), computer science.

            Kansas City, Mo.: Scott Johnson (Rockhurst), actuarial science.

            Lee's Summit, Mo.: Brendan Smith (Lee's Summit North), computer science.

            Monument, Colo.: Katie Boylen (Palmer Ridge), management.

            Overland Park, Kan.: Jay Michels (Shawnee Mission South), computer science.

            Palatine Ill.: Ryan Erdmann, computer science.

            Sioux City, Iowa: Kaitlyn Brady (Heelan), engineering.

            Sioux Falls, S.D.: James Gaspar (O'Gorman), computer engineering.

Writer: Kelly Bartling, University Communications, 402-472-2059

News Release Contacts: