Great Plains Research, Great Plains Quarterly announce award winners

Released on 04/10/2013, at 2:00 AM
Office of University Communications
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lincoln, Neb., April 10th, 2013 —

            The Center for Great Plains Studies at the University of Nebraska has announced the selection of the following paper as award winners for the 2012 volume year:

  • Leslie Hewes Award for best Social Science paper in Great Plains Research Vol. 22, No. 2: "Reconsidering National Park Interpretation of the Great Plains and Trans-Mississippi West," Robert Pahre, Department of Political Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • Charles E. Bessey Award for best Natural Science paper in Great Plains Research Vol. 22, No. 1: "Wetlands Hydrodynamics and Long-Term Use of Spring Migration Areas by Lesser Scaup in Eastern South Dakota," Sharon N. Kahara, Department of Natural Resource Management, and Steven R. Chipps, U.S. Geological Survey, South Dakota Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit at South Dakota State University.
  • Fredrick C. Luebke Award for best paper in Great Plains Quarterly Vol. 32, No. 1: "Converting the Rosebud: Sicangu Lakota Catholicism in the Late 19th and Early 20th Centuries," Harvey Markowitz, Department of Anthropology at Washington and Lee University.

            The winners receive a certificate and a cash award of $250.

            The Center for Great Plains Studies is an intercollegiate regional research and teaching program. Its mission is to promote a greater understanding of the people, culture, history and environment of the Great Plains through a variety of research, teaching and outreach programs. For more information, contact the center at 402-472-3082 or visit

Writer: Katie Nieland, Publications Specialist, Center for Great Plains Studies, 402-472-3965