Nominations sought for 2016 'Fulfilling the Dream' Award

Released on 12/14/2015, at 2:00 AM
Office of University Communications
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Lincoln, Neb., December 14th, 2015 —

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln seeks nominations for the 2016 Chancellor's "Fulfilling the Dream" Award. The award recognizes leaders who are role models both on and off campus. Nominations may be submitted by any member of the university or community.

The award was established in 1997 to honor those who have contributed to UNL or Lincoln by promoting the goals and vision of the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. The awards are presented each January during ceremonies at the university's celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Nomination materials, including a letter of nomination and no more than three letters of support, should be sent by Jan. 8 to Jody Wood, MLK committee secretary, 128 Canfield Administration Building, Lincoln, NE 68588-0437 or via email to The awards subcommittee will review the nominations and make recommendations for the final selections to the MLK Day Planning Committee and UNL Chancellor Harvey Perlman.

Previous "Fulfilling the Dream" winners are: 1998 -- Keith Parker (UNL); 1999 -- Leola Bullock (community) and Miguel Carranza (UNL); 2000 -- Lela Shanks (community) and Melvin Jones (UNL); 2001 -- Paulette Jones (community) and Michael Combs (UNL); 2002 -- Bonnie Coffey (community) and Merlin Lawson (UNL); 2003 -- Leroy Stokes (community) and Robert Hitchcock (UNL); 2004 -- Jose Soto (community) and Stephanie Adams (UNL); 2005 -- Thomas Christie (community) and Chuck van Rossum (UNL); 2006 -- Larry Williams (community) and Amber Hunter (UNL); 2007 -- Oscar Harriot (community) and Christy Horn (UNL); 2008 -- Gwendolyn Combs (UNL); 2009 – Pete Ferguson (community) and Students United for Nebraska (UNL); 2010 – Nebraska Appleseed (community) and Helen Moore (UNL); 2011 – T.J. McDowell (community) and Charlene Maxey-Harris (UNL); 2012 – Zainab Al-baaj and the MENA Hope Project (community) and African American and African Studies Program (UNL); 2013 – Pat Tetreault (UNL); 2014 – Jake Kirkland Jr. (UNL); 2015 – Empowerment Network (community) and Linda and Gene Crump (UNL).