Nominees sought for 'Fulfilling the Dream' award


UNL seeks nominations for the 2011 Chancellor's "Fulfilling the Dream" Award. The university remains committed to diversity and the ideals espoused by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. This award provides a platform to celebrate and recognize contemporary leaders who are role models both on and off-campus. Nominations are encouraged and may be submitted by all members of the university and the community at large.

The award was established in 1997 to honor individuals who have contributed to the UNL community or the wider Lincoln community by their exemplary action in promoting the goals and vision of King. The awards are presented each January during ceremonies at the university's observance of the King holiday. The 2011 presentation will be Jan. 18.

Nomination materials, including a letter of nomination and no more than three letters of support, should be sent by Dec. 17, to Jody Wood, MLK Committee Secretary, 128 Canfield Administration Building, Lincoln, NE 68588-0437 or via e-mail to The awards subcommittee will review the nominations and make recommendations for the final selections to the MLK Day Planning Committee and UNL Chancellor Harvey Perlman.

Previous winners of the award are: 1998 - Keith Parker (UNL); 1999 - Leola Bullock (community) and Miguel Carranza (UNL); 2000 - Lela Shanks (community) and Melvin Jones (UNL); 2001 - Paulette Jones (community) and Michael Combs (UNL); 2002 - Bonnie Coffey (community) and Merlin Lawson (UNL); 2003 - Leroy Stokes (community) and Robert Hitchcock (UNL); 2004 - Jose Soto (community) and Stephanie Adams (UNL); 2005 - Thomas Christie (community) and Chuck van Rossum (UNL); 2006 - Larry Williams (community) and Amber Hunter (UNL); 2007 - Oscar Harriot (community) and Christy Horn (UNL); 2008 - Gwendolyn Combs (UNL); 2009 - Pete Ferguson (community) and Students United for Nebraska (UNL); 2010 - Nebraska Appleseed (community) and Helen Moore (UNL).

- Jody Wood, Equity, Access and Diversity