UNL Parents Association honors 142 faculty, staff

More than 140 faculty and staff were honored by the UNL Parents Association on Feb. 8.
More than 140 faculty and staff were honored by the UNL Parents Association on Feb. 8.

The UNL Teaching Council and UNL Parents Association honored faculty and staff at an annual recognition ceremony on Feb. 8.

Certificates of recognition for contributions to students were given during the ceremony. The awards provide positive feedback to campus faculty and staff about the work they do with students. The honors also encourage the goal of good student/faculty relationships.

The Parents Association solicits nominations through an annual mailing, asking parents to nominate a faculty or staff employee who has made a significant difference in their student’s life.

All who were nominated by at least one parent and/or student and who are still with the university received a certificate.

The 2012-2013 recipients are listed below. Numbers in parentheses indicate the years a recipient has received the award. If no number is listed, the award is a first-time honor. For more information, contact Student Affairs at 472-3755.

Photos from the award presentation are available at https://www.facebook.com/ScarletUNL.

College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

Agricultural Economics — Ronald Hanson (21); Rosalee Swartz (15)

Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication — Helen Fagan

Agronomy and Horticulture — Donald Lee (21)

Animal Science — Dennis Brink (10); Lisa Karr-Lilienthal (2); Merlyn Nielsen (7); Bryan Reiling (8); Jennifer Wood

Biochemistry — Britta Osborne (2)

Biological Systems Engineering — Roger Hoy (2); Deepak Keshwani

Dean’s Office — Sue Ellen Pegg (3); Sue Voss (11); Steven S. Waller (6)

Food Science and Technology — John H. Rupnow (6)

Golf Management — Alan Baquet (2)

Natural Resources — J. Clark Archer*; Sara Winn; David Wishart* (7)

Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences — Douglas Rogers

*Also in the College of Arts and Sciences


College of Architecture

Architecture — Nathan Krug


College of Arts and Sciences

Advising Office — Nicole Smith

Anthropology — Wayne Babchuk (5); Dan Osborne

Biological Sciences — Gwen Bachman (8); Paul H. Blum (2); Scott Gardner (9); William V. Glider (4); Vicki Hurd; Connor Mahoney (2); Robert J. Newman; Latifa Obaidi; Wendy O’Connor (5); Sabrina Russo (2); David Woodman (6)

Chemistry — Manashi Chatterjee (2); Stephen DiMagno; Eric Dodds; Neil Lawrence (2); Eric Malina (6); Jaime Stark

Classics and Religious Studies — Thomas Winter (9)

Communication Studies — Aaron Duncan; Audra Nuru

Dean’s Office — Bill Watts (2)

English — Grace Bauer; Robert Fuglei; Joseph F. Goecke (3); Claire Harlan Orsi; Kathryn Kruger; Cindy Nelson; Erica Rogers; Pascha Stevenson

History — Thomas Berg (7); Susan C. Lawrence; James Le Sueur (5); Michelle Tiedje; Steve Witte (2)

Mathematics — Philip Gipson; David Grothen; Ashley Johnson; Mitchel Keller; Mohammad Rammaha (11); Judy L. Walker (6); Gordon S. Woodward (12)

Modern Languages and Literature — Françoise Agena; José Gonzalez; Sheri Hurlbut (9); Errapel Mejias-Vicandi (4)

Philosophy — Allison Fritz

Political Science — Patrice McMahon (6); Laura Roost

Psychology — Calvin Garbin (16); Timothy D. Nelson; Celeste Spier (4)


College of Business Administration

Accountancy — Debra Cosgrove (6); Gordon Quitmeyer (2); Jean Riley-Schultz; Trevor Shonhiwa

Center for Entrepreneurship — Rose Graves

Economics — Carlos Asarta Pedraza (5); Laurie Miller

Management — Samuel Nelson (3)

Marketing — Michelle Jacobs (3)


College of Education and Human Sciences

Child, Youth and Family Studies — Michelle Rupiper (2)

Dean’s Office — Debra Mullen (9)

Nutrition and Health Sciences — Linda Young (15)

Special Education and Communication Disorders — Cynthia Cress (5); Suzanne Kemp (2)

Student Services Center — Judy Hofeldt (5)

Teaching, Learning and Teacher Education — Rita C. Hermann (2); Tina Hille (2); Lorraine Males; Sarah Osborn; Sarah Thomas (2)


College of Engineering

Construction Management — Timothy Wentz (10)

Electrical Engineering — Michael Hoffman (2); David Russell

Mechanical and Materials Engineering — Wieslaw M. Szydlowski (6)


Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts

Art and Art History — Dana Fritz (4); Sandra Williams (7)

Music and Dance — Paul Barnes (4); Karen Becker (5); Alisa Belflower (8); Douglas Bush (3); Anthony Falcone (7); Clark Potter (7); Eric Richards (2)

Theatre and Film — Carrie Lee Patterson

College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Advertising — Stacy James (15); Phyllis Larsen (7); Brian Reid; Amy Struthers (6)

Broadcasting — Richard Alloway (20); Trina Creighton (6)

News Editorial — Scott Winter (7)

Technical Communications — Stephanie Sparks


Other Units

Academic Affairs Honors Program — Laura Damuth (4); Ann Koopmann (10); Karen Lyons (15)

Academic Affairs WH Thompson Learning Community — Kelli King (2)

ACReW — Larka Vesper

Aerospace Studies — Stephen Gibson

Association of Students of the University of Nebraska — Marlene Beyke (6)

Athletic Department — William Straub (4)

Campus Recreation — Kyle Hansen; Jordan Messerer

Career Services — Thomas Allison (2); Becky Faber (8)

Center for Civic Engagement — Kristie L. Baack (15)

Criminology and Criminal Justice — Jonathan Brauer

Dental College — Merlyn Vogt

Gerontology — Christopher Kelly (2)

Greek Affairs — Linda Schwartzkopf (2)

Nebraska Alumni Association — Jenny Green

Online and Distance Education — Robert Mathiasen

Registration and Records — Deborah Quinn (4)

Scholarships and Financial Aid — Megan Morris; Anna Plank (6)

TRIO Programs — Vaughn Robertson (5)

University Housing — Melissa Peters (3); Philip Sjogren

More details at: http://go.unl.edu/unl_scarlet